Phil Jackson Says Nets Lack an Identity & The Top NBA News

Top Story

The Los Angeles Lakers beat the New Jersey Nets last night, to no ones surprise.  The Nets have struggled this season and Phil Jackson believes the team does not have an “identity.”  The Nets hope to find that identity once they acquire Carmelo Anthony.

Phil Jackson believes the Nets do not have an identity: Hoopsnotes Dimitri Kucharczyk

The Latest on the Lakers

The Los Angeles Lakers beat the New Jersey Nets last night, 100-88.  Here is a quarter-by-quarter recap of the game by Lakers Nation’s Michael Goldsholl. [LakersNation]

The mid-way point of January has passed, but the worst has yet to come.  The latter half of the month will be a tough stretch of games for the Lakers. [Los Angeles Times: Mike Bresnahan]

Dwight Howard will become a free-agent very soon, and the Lakers are pursuing “Superman.” [Hoopsnotes: Dimitri Kucharczyk]

The Staples Center crowd gave a warm reception to Jordan Farmar, but they had mixed feelings for Sasha Vujacic. [OC Register: Jonathan Khamis]

The Latest on the NBA

Utah Jazz center Mehmet Okur may play in Turkey if there is a lock-out in the NBA. [Hoopsnotes: Dimitri Kucharczyk]

Reports say the New York Knicks may trade forward Anthony Randolph in a few weeks to either the Pacers, Timberwolves or Trail Blazers. [Slam Magazine]

Carmelo Anthony says a championship ring is more important than money. [NBA.com]

Dallas Mavericks forward Dirk Nowitzki says he is close to returning to the basketball court. [Hoopsnotes: Dimitri Kucharczyk]

The Summer League will still be held if there is a lock-out in the NBA next season. [Pro Basketball Talk: Matt Moore]

The NBA’s Deputy Commissioner, Adam Silver, told reporters that a lock-out is not inevitable. [Pro Basket Ball: Matt Moore]

LeBron James is doubtful for tonight’s game highly anticipated game in Chicago. [ESPN.com NBA]

NBA Results for January 14th, 2011

Chicago Bulls-99 (26-13) Indiana Pacers-86 (16-21) -F

Philadelphia 76ers-95 (16-23) Milwaukee Bucks-94 (14-23) -F

Detroit Pistons-101 (13-26) Toronto Raptors-95 (13-26) -F

Boston Celtics-99 (30-9) Charlotte Bobcats-95 (15-22) -F

Sacramento Kings-93 (9-26) New York Knicks-83 (22-17) -F

San Antonio Spurs-101 (34-6) Dallas Mavericks-89 (26-12) -F

New Orleans Hornets-110 (24-16) Houston Rockets-105 (17-23) -F/OT

Utah Jazz-121 (27-13) Cleveland Cavaliers-99 (8-31) -F

Phoenix Suns-115 (17-21) Portland Trail Blazers-110 (20-20) -F

Golden State Warriors-122 (16-23) Los Angeles Clippers-112 (13-25) – F

Los Angeles Lakers-100 (30-11) New Jersey Nets-88 (10-29) – F

NBA Schedule for January 15th, 2011

Houston Rockets (17-23) at Atlanta Hawks (26-14) – 7:00 P.M. EST/ 4:00 P.M. PST- NBA League Pass

New Orleans Hornets (24-16) at Charlotte Bobcats (15-22) – 7:00 P.M. EST/ 4:00 P.M. PST- NBA League Pass

Toronto Raptors (13-26) at Washington Wizards (10-27) – 7:00 P.M. EST/ 4:00 P.M. PST- NBA League Pass

Sacramento Kings (9-28) at Detroit Pistons (13-26) – 7:30 P.M. EST/ 4:30 P.M. PST- NBA League Pass

Miami Heat (30-11) at Chicago Bulls (26-13) – NBA TV- 8:00 P.M. EST/ 5:00 P.M. PST

Dallas Mavericks (26-12) at Memphis Grizzlies (18-21) – 8:00 P.M. EST/ 5:00 P.M. PST- NBA League Pass

Orlando Magic (25-14) at Minnesota Timberwolves (10-30) – 8:00 P.M. EST/ 5:00 P.M. PST- NBA League Pass

Cleveland Cavaliers (8-31) at Denver Nuggets (22-16) – 9:00 P.M. EST/ 6:00 P.M. PST- NBA League Pass

New Jersey Nets (10-29) at Portland Trail Blazers (20-20) – 10:00 P.M. EST/ 7:00 P.M. PST- NBA League Pass

You May Also Like

Lakers Rumors: Lakers, Clippers To Face Off Christmas Day For Second Straight Year

With Kobe Bryant officially retired, the star power that has been around the Los Angeles Lakers for years is now gone…

Lakers News: South Bay’s Coby Karl Named G League Coach Of The Month For November

Los Angeles Lakers rookie Kyle Kuzma wasn’t the only member of the organization to take home an award for a strong…

Denver’s Game 4 Intruder Reportedly ‘Disoriented’

During the Los Angeles Lakers’ Game 4 in Denver, a woman walked…

Lakers Injury News: Trevor Ariza To Be Evaluated In 8 Weeks After Undergoing Ankle Surgery

The Los Angeles Lakers announced that forward Trevor Ariza underwent an arthroscopic debridement procedure on his injured right…