NBA Age-Restriction May Come to an End & The Top NBA News

Top Story

Los Angeles Lakers' Matt Barnes poses for photos during the basketball team's media day at the Lakers training facility in El Segundo, California on September 25, 2010. The Lakers will try to three-peat this season after winning back-to-back NBA championship titles. UPI/Jim Ruymen Photo via Newscom

The NBA has seen many great players take the quantum leap from  high school to the pros.  Some of the games greats today have never been to college, as they decided to head for the big leagues instead.   Players like Kobe Bryant and LeBron James both skipped college, and they wanted to go directly to the NBA.  However, the league had decided that all prospects must complete one year of college before entering the league.   The rule has been in effect of several years, but that may soon change.  The NBA Players Association wants the league to repel the rule, and wants high school students to have the option of coming straight into the NBA.

Players seek end of age restriction: ESPN.com NBA: Chris Broussard

The Latest on the NBA

The Los Angeles Lakers beat the Washington Wizards last night, 115-108.  Here is a quarter-by-quarter recap of the game. [LakersNation]

Ron Artest is considering giving his next season’s salary to charity.  Another kind gesture by the “Humanitarian.” [LakersNation]

Andrew Bynum may make his season-debut on December 14th, when the Lakers play the Wizards. [Sporting News]

Derek Fisher has played 434 straight games, the most by any active player. [Los Angeles Times Lakers Blog: Mark Medina]

The Latest on the NBA

Turkish basketball club Besiktas Cola Turka’s may try to pursue Shaquille O’Neal once the season is over. [Slam Magazine]

Antonie Walker will try to get back into the NBA by taking his talents to the D-League. [Dime Magazine]

Washington Wizards’ Point Guard John Wall impressed the defending champions by his speed and skill-set. [Los Angeles Times: Broderick Turner]

The Boston Celtics may have to sit Rajon Rondo for an extended period of time due to his injured left hamstring. [Slam Magazine]

The Cleveland Cavaliers are looking to trade Antawn Jamison. [Sporting News]

NBA Results for December 7th, 2010

Atlanta Hawks-116 New Jersey Nets-101-F

Charlotte Bobcats-100 Denver Nuggets-98-F

Philadelphia 76ers-117 Cleveland Cavaliers-97-F

Dallas Mavericks-105 Golden State Warriors-100-F

Houston Rockets-97 Detroit Pistons-83-F

Portland Trail Blazers-106 Phoenix Suns-99-F

Los Angeles Lakers-115 Washington Wizards-108-F

NBA Schedule for December 8th, 2010

Denver Nuggets at Boston Celtics-ESPN- 7:00 P.M. EST/ 4:00 P.M. PST

Chicago Bulls at Cleveland Cavaliers- 7:00 P.M. EST/ 4:00 P.M. PST- NBA League Pass

Toronto Raptors at New York Knicks- 7:30 P.M. EST/ 4:30 P.M. PST- NBA League Pass

Indiana Pacers at Milwaukee Bucks- 8:00 P.M. EST/ 5:00 P.M. PST- NBA League Pass

Oklahoma City Thunder at Minnesota Timberwolves- 8:00 P.M. EST/ 5:00 P.M. PST- NBA League Pass

Detroit Pistons at New Orleans Hornets- 8:00 P.M. EST/ 5:00 P.M. PST- NBA League Pass

Golden State Warriors at San Antonio Spurs- 8:30 P.M. EST/ 5:30 P.M. PST- NBA League Pass

Memphis Grizzlies at Phoenix Suns- 9:00 P.M. EST/ 6:00 P.M. PST- NBA League Pass

Miami Heat at Utah Jazz- 9:00 P.M. EST/ 6:00 P.M. PST- NBA League Pass

Washington Wizards at Sacramento Kings- 10:00 P.M. EST/ 7:00 P.M. PST- NBA League Pass

Los Angeles Lakers at Los Angeles Clippers- 10:30 P.M. EST/ 7:30 P.M. PST- NBA League Pass

You May Also Like

Lakers-Celtics TV Ratings Among Most-Watched Games On ESPN For 2017-18 NBA Season

When the 2017-18 NBA regular-season schedule was released last August, it included 35 nationally televised games…

Lakers News: Nick Young Credits Luke Walton For NBA Career Rebirth, Escaping D’Angelo Russell Situation

After a career season with the Los Angeles Lakers, shooting guard Nick Young elected to…

Video: Ivica Zubac Hits Sky Hook In Lakers’ Practice

The Los Angeles Lakers took a risk when they selected Ivica Zubac with the 32nd pick in the 2016 NBA Draft. He was considered something of an unknown, and his refusal to become a “draft and stash” in Europe led to his draft stock falling…

JaVale McGee ‘Wouldn’t Mind’ Re-Signing With Lakers In Free Agency

Although JaVale McGee is set to test the waters of free agency, it appears he has already gotten a head start in expressing…