NBA Announces 2011 Dunk Contest Contestants & The Top NBA News

Top Story

This year’s NBA All-Star Weekend will take place in Los Angeles, and the contestants for the dunk contest have been announced.  Although fans wanted LeBron James and Shannon Brown to partake in the contest, they should not be disappointed with the selection of Blake Griffin. Griffin will battle Brandon Jennings, Serge Ibaka and JaVale McGee.

The 2011 Spite Slam Dunk Contest Contestants: NBA.com

The Latest on the Lakers

The Los Angeles Lakers beat-down the Detroit Pistons last night, 108-83. Here is a quarter-by-quarter recap of last night’s game by Lakers Nation’s Michael Goldsholl. [LakersNation]

In addition to last night’s victory, Kobe Bryant passed Dominique Wilkins for the tenth spot on the NBA’s all-time leading scorers list. [Los Angeles Times Lakers Blog: Mark Medina]

Phil Jackson admits he had a verbal altercation with Ron Artest at a recent practice.  [ESPN Los Angeles: Dave McMenamin]

The Latest on the NBA

The Memphis Grizzlies may ban gambling on team flights after O.J. Mayo and Tony Allen got into a fight over a card game debt. [Hoopsnotes: Dimitri]

Kevin Love would like to join the Oklahoma City Thunder and start a new “Big 3.” [Sporting News]

After suffering an injury one week ago, Kevin Garnett participated in a Celtics’ practice on Wednesday. [ESPN.com Boston]

After spending one month with the Hawks, the front office has decided to release Damien Wilkins. [ESPN.com NBA]

NBA Results for January 4th, 2010

Miami Heat-101 (28-9) Milwaukee Bucks-89 (13-19) -F

New York Knicks-128 (20-14) San Antonio Spurs-115 (29-5) -F

Chicago Bulls-111 (23-10) Toronto Raptors-91 (11-23) -F

Memphis Grizzlies-110 (16-19) Oklahoma City Thunder-105 (23-13) -F

Dallas Mavericks-84 (26-8) Portland Trail Blazers-81 (18-17) -F

Atlanta Hawks-108 (23-14) Sacramento Kings-102 (7-25) -F

Los Angeles Lakers-108 (24-11) Detroit Pistons-83 (11-24) -F

NBA Schedule for January 5th, 2011

Toronto Raptors (11-23) at Cleveland Cavaliers (8-26) – 7:00 P.M. EST/ 4:00 P.M. PST- NBA League Pass

Chicago Bulls (23-10) at New Jersey Nets (9-25) – 7:00 P.M. EST/ 4:00 P.M. PST- NBA League Pass

Milwaukee Bucks (13-19) at Orlando Magic (22-12) – 7:00 P.M. EST/ 4:00 P.M. PST- NBA League Pass

Washington Wizards (8-24) at Philadelphia 76ers (13-21) – 7:00 P.M. EST/ 4:00 P.M. PST- NBA League Pass

San Antonio Spurs (29-5) at Boston Celtics (26-7) – 7:30 P.M. EST/ 4:30 P.M. PST- NBA League Pass

Charlotte Bobcats (11-21) at Minnesota Timberwolves (9-26) – 8:00 P.M. EST/ 5:00 P.M. PST- NBA League Pass

Golden State Warriors (13-21) at New Orleans Hornets (21-14) – 8:00 P.M. EST/ 5:00 P.M. PST- NBA League Pass

Portland Trail Blazers (18-17) at Houston Rockets (16-18) – 8:30 P.M. EST/ 5:30 P.M. PST- NBA League Pass

Atlanta Hawks (23-14) at Utah Jazz (24-11) – 9:00 P.M. EST/ 6:00 P.M. PST- NBA League Pass

Los Angeles Lakers (24-11) at Phoenix Suns (14-18) – ESPN- 10:30 P.M. EST/ 7:30 P.M. PST

Denver Nuggets (20-13) at Los Angeles Clippers (10-24) – 10:30 P.M. EST/ 7:30 P.M. PST- NBA League Pass

You May Also Like

Lakers News: Kyle Kuzma No Longer Giving Opponents ‘Too Much Respect’ In Order To Improve Defensively

Since Kyle Kuzma began to impress in Las Vegas Summer League before his rookie season, it’s come with the caveat that he largely is a one-dimensional players. After earning…

Lakers News: Magic Johnson Expresses Support For Golden State Warriors Amidst President Trump Controversy

The NBA world has been abuzz over the words of President Donald…

Lakers Rumors: Kobe Bryant Announces on Twitter Desire To Write Book

On Twitter this morning Kobe tweeted out to the millions (and millions)…

VIDEO: Lakers, Kings 2002 Western Conference Finals Game 4 Analyzed

After winning back-to-back championships in 2000 and 2001, the Lakers of the…